In the 20th Century, we preserved the land. In the 21st, let’s restore it.


As the Next Century Conservation Plan was developed, this group of advisors played a critical role by providing expert insights. Along with the Commission, the advisory team served as an important sounding board as research was compiled for the Plan.

Steven Byers, Field Representative, Illinois Nature Preserves Commission
Louise Clemency, Field Supervisor, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – Chicago Office
Benjamin Cox, Executive Director, Friends of the Forest Preserves
Jack  Darin, Executive Director, Sierra Club – Illinois Chapter
Margaret Frisbie, Executive Director, Friends of the Chicago River
Brooke Hecht, Executive Director, Center for Humans and Nature
Deborah Lahey, President and CEO, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
Stacy Meyers, Policy Coordinator, Openlands
Stephen Packard, National Audubon Society, Audubon-Chicago Region
Justin Pepper, Acting Director, National Audubon Society, Audubon Chicago Region
Melinda Pruett-Jones, Executive Director, Chicago Wilderness
Laurel Ross, Urban Conservation Director, Field Museum
Steve Thompson, Ph.D., Senior Vice President of Capital Programmatic Planning, Lincoln Park Zoo
Erma Tranter, President, Friends of the Parks
Beth White, Chicago Area Office Director, Trust for Public Land